Visual Communication at The Levels School

Visual Communication encompasses all forms of art, craft and design. The aim of the department is to make young people visually aware and able to form their own opinions about the aesthetic world around them. KS2 and KS3 follow the National Curriculum for Art and Design, as this naturally leads onto the Art, Craft and Design GCSE. 

Teaching for all year groups is individualised to each student’s need. Initial themes or topics are given as starting points throughout the year but the ways that work develops will vary depending on the interest and ability of each student. The different needs of students are met through tailoring each task, piece of work or project to the individual. The use of templates, working into existing images, using digital equipment and varying the use of media and materials are examples of how starting points can be differentiated to meet the needs of individuals.

 Building and developing a student’s self-esteem is the priority of the Visual Communication department. The confidence to experiment and learn from it will lead to better results at GCSE and happier students throughout the school. Students aspire to create work that is personal and of a high quality by seeing the work of others. This is work from well established artists and also creations by their peers. An environment of sharing and discussions about work exists within the department. Regular marking and feedback and the opportunity for students to improve upon their work is given.


Key Stage Two

KS2 students are taught in mixed-age and mixed-ability groups consisting of children from Years 4 to 6. All KS2 children are taught the same history curriculum in a single year. To avoid repeating the same units, the KS2 curriculum has been mapped over three years, with students studying different units in years A, B and C.


Key Stage Three



At The Levels School, we offer AQA GCSE in Art, Craft and Design. This GCSE is broad enough to allow students to follow their own interests and skills within the defined structure of a GCSE. There are two components to the GCSE which students must complete. 

Component 1: must show evidence of working in areas of study drawn from two or more of the titles taking into account the distinguishing characteristics of art, craft and design. ​

Component 2: must show evidence of areas of study drawn from one or more of the titles.

At least two of the titles below must be studied. 

Art Class

Fine Art

For example drawing, painting, sculpture, installation, lens-/light-based media, photography and the moving image, printmaking, mixed media and land art.